Person
 

Matthias Burkert

Matthias Burkert

was born 1953 in Duisburg and finished school in 1972 in Wuppertal. He started piano lessons at the age of six. After studying for two years at the art academy in Düsseldorf, he decided to devote himself exclusively to his real passion, music, and in 1974 began studying piano at the Wuppertal college of Cologne’s music academy, with trumpet and singing as additional subjects. Most important to him there was the holistic piano-teaching approach of Prof Harald Bojé, under whom he studied contemporary music, his specialist subject. Matthias Burkert had a natural, unselfconscious relationship with instruments; from an early age improvisation was his passion, not solely on the piano. His approach to music was playful, experimental and open.

He first saw a piece by Pina Bausch in 1975 in Wuppertal, her version of Igor Stravinsky's Le sacre du printemps. Although Burkert had no experience of ballet, the unmediated humanity of Pina Bausch's contemporary dance language left a profound impression on him. In 1978, after finishing his studies, he took up the offer of a post teaching piano at his college. In 1976 he had already become musical director at Wuppertal's children and youth theatre – a position he retained till 2001 despite the increasing demands of the job. Alongside this he had piano pupils of his own. In 1979 Pina Bausch was looking for a new pianist, as the répétiteur who accompanied their daily training wished to retire. She took on Burkert, who initially looked over the existing pianist's shoulder; accompanying training was new territory for him. His responsibilities quickly changed however. Pina Bausch was in the process of redefining dance, not only in terms of subject matter and choreography, but in terms of the music used, and she needed help. His work now included research, as well the musical aspects of dramaturgy – developing dramatic tension and attuning the music precisely to the dances and scenes. At the time this was still time-consuming work for a sound technician. Not only did every piece of music have to be recorded onto tape or cassette then edited every time a change was made; it was also harder to locate unusual music. Burkert combed the record shops of Wuppertal and the surrounding area, and contacted radio archives and private collectors. Sometimes as many as four tape players were used in parallel, in order to enable a swift changeover.

Burkert's first collaboration with Pina Bausch was in 1980, with Bandoneon. She had brought a wealth of material back from South America which he had to edit, and where necessary he composed pieces of his own. The ensemble's extended tours, and the growing number of co-productions resulting from them, were changing the nature of the work. New musical horizons were opened each time during research on location. Ultimately, however, the trick was to allow the musical spirit of a country to be heard, without it sounding folkloristic.

The dances and scenes almost always emerged independently of the music, thus developing and affirming their self-sufficiency – amongst other things. The music was chosen partly as a result of considerations made at the start, but largely through a dogged process of trial and error, which was not only the guiding working principle; it determined the content of each piece. Pina Bausch often asked him to re-examine everything which seemed to have worked musically in rehearsal and to abandon whole blocks of music to make way for radical new ideas. Aspects of the performances were suddenly experienced anew. Critical in making the final selection, as Pina Bausch said, was whether in twenty years they would still look forward to the next track each time, that it would always sound fresh and new.

Matthias Burkert accompanied each rehearsal process from the start, collecting music and ordering it according to its quality or atmosphere, or with particular dancers in mind, whose characters were becoming ever more familiar to him. Pina Bausch increasingly incorporated him into her pieces with musical performances. He sat next to her during every show, regulating the musical temperature of the performance, talking to his colleagues at the mixing desk through a microphone.

In 1995 he was joined by Andreas Eisenschneider. Today they are an experienced team, with joint responsibility for music at the Tanztheater Wuppertal where they complement each other. They were co-directors of music for Wim Wenders' film Pina.

NORBERT SERVOS
Translated by Steph Morris

Person
 

Matthias Burkert

Matthias Burkert

wird 1953 in Duisburg geboren und macht 1972 sein Abitur in Wuppertal. Bereits ab dem Alter von sechs Jahren erhält er Klavierunterricht. Nach einem zweijährigen Kunststudium an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf beschließt er, sich ausschließlich seiner eigentlichen Leidenschaft, der Musik, zu widmen und beginnt 1974 am Wuppertaler Ableger der Kölner Musik-Hochschule ein Klavierstudium mit den Nebenfächern Trompete und Gesang. Es ist vor allem der ganzheitliche klavierdidaktische Ansatz von Prof. Harald Bojé, bei dem er im Schwerpunkt zeitgenössische Musik studiert, der ihm entgegen kommt. Matthias Burkert hat ein natürliches, unbefangenes Verhältnis zu Instrumenten; von früh auf ist die Improvisation, nicht nur auf dem Klavier, seine große Leidenschaft. Spielerisch und experimentell offen ist sein Zugang zur Musik.

1975 sieht er zum ersten Mal in Wuppertal ein Stück von Pina Bausch. Es ist ihre Version von Igor Strawinskys „Le Sacre du printemps“. Zwar hat Burkert zum Ballett keine Beziehung, aber die unmittelbare Menschlichkeit von Pina Bauschs zeitgenössischer Tanzsprache beeindruckt ihn tief. Nach Abschluss seines Studiums nimmt er 1978 das Angebot eines Lehrauftrages für Klavierdidaktik seiner Hochschule an. Bereits seit 1976 ist er Musikalischer Leiter des Theaters für Kinder und Jugendliche in Wuppertal – eine Position, die er, trotz steigender Anforderungen, bis 2001 beibehalten wird. Daneben hat er eigene Klavierschüler. 1979 sucht Pina Bausch einen Pianisten, da der Repetitor, der das tägliche Training begleitet, in Rente geht. Burkert wird engagiert – und schaut zunächst einmal dem alten Repetitor über die Schulter. Trainingsbegleitung ist für ihn ein neues Feld. Doch rasch verändert sich sein Aufgabengebiet. Pina Bausch, die gerade dabei ist, den Tanz nicht nur inhaltlich und choreographisch, sondern auch in der Musikwahl von Grund auf neu zu bestimmen, braucht Unterstützung. Die Arbeit umfasst nicht nur die Recherche, sondern ebenso musikdramaturgische Fragen, die Entwicklung von Spannungsbögen sowie die genaue Abstimmung mit den tänzerischen und szenischen Abläufen. Das ist zu dieser Zeit tontechnisch noch mühsam. Nicht nur müssen alle Musiken auf Tonbänder bzw. Kassetten überspielt und bei jeder Veränderung umgeschnitten werden. Auch das Auffinden ungewöhnlicher Musik ist schwierig. Burkert durchforstet die Schallplattenläden in Wuppertal und Umgebung, kontaktiert Rundfunkarchive und Privatsammler. Manchmal laufen während der Vorstellungen bis zu vier Tonbandgeräte parallel, um schnelle Wechsel zu ermöglichen. 

„Bandoneon“ ist 1980 die erste Zusammenarbeit Burkerts mit der Choreographin. Sie hat von einer Südamerika-Tournee eine Fülle von Material mitgebracht, das aufbereitet werden muss. Wenn nötig komponiert Burkert auch eigene Stücke. Die ausgedehnten Reisen des Ensembles und die sich daraus allmählich ergebenden Koproduktionen verändern die musikalische Arbeit. Bei den Recherchen vor Ort eröffnen sich jedes Mal neue musikalische Horizonte. Doch letztlich geht es darum, das Kunststück fertigzubringen, die musikalische Seele eines Landes anklingen zu lassen, ohne folkloristisch zu werden. 
Fast immer entstehen die Tänze und Szenen unabhängig von der Musik, entwickeln und beweisen dadurch zunächst ihre Selbstständigkeit. Das Hinzufügen von Musik ergibt sich einerseits durch Überlegungen im Vorfeld, vor allem aber auch durch ein beharrliches Verfahren von Versuch und Irrtum, das im Tanztheater nicht nur zum alles bestimmenden Arbeitsprinzip wird, sondern die Stücke auch inhaltlich definiert. Oft bittet ihn Pina, alles während der Proben musikalisch scheinbar Bewährte in Frage zu stellen und ganze Musikblöcke radikal durch neue Ideen auszutauschen. Vieles wird plötzlich wieder neu  erlebt. Für die endgültige Auswahl ist unter anderem entscheidend, wie Pina Bausch sagt, dass sie sich auch in zwanzig Jahren noch auf die nächste Musik freuen kann, dass sie immer wieder frisch und neu klingt.

Matthias Burkert begleitet den Probenprozess von Anfang an, sammelt Musiken, ordnet  sie nach Charakter und Atmosphäre oder denkt dabei an einzelne Tänzer, deren Wesen ihm im Laufe der Jahre immer vertrauter wird. Immer wieder integriert Pina Bausch ihn auch mit musikalischen Auftritten in ihre Stücke. Bei allen Vorstellungen sitzt er neben Pina und reguliert, über Mikrofon mit dem Kollegen am Mischpult verbunden, die musikalische Temperatur der Aufführung.
1995 erweitert  Andreas Eisenschneider das Team. Heute ergänzen sich beide als eingespieltes Team in der Verantwortung für die Musik des Tanztheaters. Gemeinsam haben sie in Wim Wenders’ Film „Pina“ die Musikalische Leitung.
NORBERT SERVOS